photo 1

Did you know you can actually build your own Birchbox? Well you can! If you are in New York, stop by the Soho brick and mortar location and try it out.

Here’s how it works for women’s boxes: For $15, you can choose a box and five samples. There are four categories: makeup, body (which includes any body products, nail stuff and fragrances), hair care and skin care. You choose one thing from each category and your last item can be from any category. I’ll show you what I picked in a bit.

Here’s how it works for men’s boxes: for $25, you get to choose six items. Men’s categories include skincare, haircare, shaving and beard products, body products and lifestyle items (which include things like passport covers, lightening cables and whiskey stones).

photo 2

Pretty cool right? These seem like they would work particularly well for gifts or maybe if you want to try out Birchbox, but are not quite ready to commit to a monthly subscription. It’s also a terrific way to try out lots of different products and brands before you splurge on the full sizes.

Here’s what I choose:

photo 3(1)

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water: This is really neat. You can use it before makeup to prime your face, after makeup application to help set it, or throughout the day as a refreshing mist. It’s also oil-free, silicone-free and alcohol-free.

photo 4

Cynthia Rowley Brightening Illuminator: A great liquid-y highlighter. Pretty subtle, but can be built up for a more dramatic strobing type effect.

photo 3

Dr. Jart+ Dermaclear Micro Water: A makeup remover, cleanser and toner in one. What more can be said?

photo 2(1)

Ruffian Nail Lacquer in Love to Love: A pretty basic barbie pink, but I’m intrigued about the lid/ brush handle. Plus, one can never own too much pink nail polish.

photo 1(1)

Fekkai Blowout Hair Refresher Dry Shampoo: I mean, it’s dry shampoo. I’ll have to try it out before I say too much, but it does smell good.

Well that’s it guys! I already can’t wait to build another! I’ll be back Saturday with a new makeup look!

I was provided this box by Birchbox as a perk for working for them. This in no way affects my opinion in the products or services discussed in this post. These are all my own honest opinions.

