Hey everyone! Obviously, today I’ll be talking about Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water. I received this in a B.Y.O.B. from Birchbox. You can see what else I got in this post or what I got in a Men’s B.Y.O.B. here. 

This is marketed as a product that can be used in three ways. Here’s how it can be used:

  • Before you apply makeup as a primer 
  • After you apply makeup to help set it
  • As a refreshing spray you can use throughout the day that won’t mess up your makeup 

First of all, let’s talk about using it in place of a primer. I’m not sure this did any better than my normal primer. I typically use Benefit Porefessional. Actually I kind of missed the feel of something thicker, that at least felt like it was helping to minimize seeing my pores and fine lines. 

Second: using as a makeup setting spray. It did help rid my face of that sort of “cakey” look you can sometime get. I liked how my makeup looked way less powdery. I have to use a setting powder, as I’m quite oily sometimes, but don’t really like looking powdery. Wait until your mascara is completely dry, though. If you’re using a non waterproof formula, it will run slightly if you don’t wait. 

Lastly: refreshing spray. Amazing. Here in the city, when you’re commuting it gets so gross outside this time of year. Getting off the train and walking the streets to work can make your makeup feel less than great, but this was pretty refreshing, and didn’t mess anything up. 

That’s it for today guys! I’ll see you all Thursday with another review!

I received this as a part of a Build Your Own Box as a Birchbox employee. This in no way affects my opinion of the product. As always, all opinions stated above are my own. 

