So, if you remember, I’ve had a warm, red undertone to my hair for a while now. Probably as long as this blog has been around, as a matter of fact. Because I have some changes planned for my hair soon, I wanted to cool the color down and try to diminish some of the red undertone. Here’s what I did:

I started the day before by washing my hair. I used a super hydrating shampoo and conditioner, since I knew I would be coloring it the next day, and I wanted to start with my hair in the best condition. 

Then this morning I gathered my supplies:

  • Garbage bag: to lay across the sink in case of spills 
  • 2 grocery bags: one to collect the trash and one to use on head like a shower cap while the color develops. I have tried using shower caps, but I just have a ton of hair. 
  • Bowl: to mix the dye in
  • Brush: both to stir and apply. Some find an applicator bottle easier, but it’s personal preference 
  • Wella Color Charm Permanent Liquid Hair Color in 5A/246 Light Ash Brown: I need four boxes. I also went lighter because my hair always colors way darker than what I want or expect. 
  • Wella Color Charm Permanent Liquid Hair Color Additive in 050 Cooling Violet: this will help fight any of the red I have going one. Some people have been using this as a toner to achieve granny gray hair lately also. 
  • Clairol Professional Soy 4 Plex Activator 30 Volume: I chose a 30 volume to help cover up the greys o have. Yes. It’s true. (Sob!)
  • Gloves: this should be obvious 
  • Hair Clips: to help separate hair into sections 

Then I mixed everything together. 1:2 ration of color to developer plus the additive. Then basically I slapped it on starting at the ends and working on the roots last. I let it simmer for 45 minutes, then rinsed well and conditioned. 

Here’s how it turned out:


Darker than what I wanted, but definitely cooler. 

I am not a hair professional, but I did think this might help some people who wanted to accomplish this. 

I’ll see you Saturday with a Face of the Day post. 

This is not a sponsored post. Some of the items mentioned in the above post may have been sent to me for consideration or given to me as employee gratis. This in no way affects my opinion. As always, any opinions stated above are solely my own. 

